Victoria Day

by underswansea

_LME3966-Pano.smA couple of satellites streak through the Milky Way.

The weekends don’t get much nicer. Clear skies and warm. Great for soaking up the sun while planting the garden.

Times have changed. When I was a kid there was no such thing as sun screen. My Mother used to tell us kids to go out and get a sunburn in May. She would say by the time the hot suns of summer arrived, the burn would turn to tan and you were protected. I like to refer to it as the ‘base burn’. Of course this method of protection is frowned upon today.

With the skies clear I thought it would be good to get out and get a look at the night sky. The moon is waning crescent and would not come up until just about daylight, so the skies were sure to be dark. Perfect for scanning The Milky Way.

_LME3975-Pano.smGravel road to the stars. The bright star above the big fir trees is Lyra.

I would have preferred to be in the mountains away from artificial light, but Lisa reminded me to stay within cell phone service. Willow and I hung out beside the lake. She gave the bark of alarm and we heard something crash through the bush; a deer I presume.

RCE_8301The waning crescent moon and Venus in the pre dawn sky.

On arrival home I noticed Willow had a piece of cactus stuck to her. Odd because wild cactus is rare in the valley bottom. I may have to go back in light and look for it. They can be quite beautiful while in bloom.

Very fine weekend and we still have another day!

