cranberry chutney

by underswansea

_LME8721

My father used to eat chutney with everything. Now that I think about it, some of the wild game we ate probably needed some dressing up to make it palatable.

A little over a week ago I decided to make some. We had it with the Thanksgiving turkey and it was tasty. It looked like it was enjoyed by at least a few guests. Lisa and I both enjoyed it with the leftovers. We have even taken it on a hike and had it with cheese and crackers.

The chutney was a combination of a few recipes. It was made with fresh cranberries, orange zest, vinegar, sugar, dried apricots, ginger, raisins, onions, cinnamon and cloves.

It turned out pretty damn good. I processed seven jars and we have already finished three. It may be a struggle to put one aside for Christmas dinner.

