strong dog

by underswansea

_LME7626

Willow having a rest.

Today my little dog Willow really showed me what she is made of.

Chad and I planned to go hiking. It was going to be a pretty good slog over boulders and a steep rise in elevation. Last night while talking about the hike I realized Willow would be left alone, as Lisa is still in Calgary. I couldn’t bear to leave her alone all day so I decided to bring her along. My old dogs Slinky and Ara used to do these hikes but they were older, and full grown.

_LME7569

First Lake.

Willow is young, with boundless energy, but I worried about the creek crossings and the boulders.

_LME7548The walk.

We hit the trail head just after 8 am. It was going to be hot. Willow made the first creek crossing no problem, walking a plank while the creek raged below. We rose up through the trees and into the rocks. Willow found a big toad that excited her. Every time it hopped Willow jumped back.

IMG_0188.JPGPanorama – Photo By Chad

We made the lake before noon. Shared some meat and cheese, snapped some pics and decided to hike the slope to get a view from above. Chad and I wondered, rising and falling in elevation. The wind kept us cool on a day that would be scorching in the valley bottom. Willow kept pace every inch of the way, other than a couple boulders I carried her over.

The lakes are glacier fed, cold as a ice and green blue just the way they should be. The site of them never ceases to amaze.

_LME7610Selfie.

We lingered here and there, marvelled over old snags and giant spruce. We pushed to better vantage points and drank from springs bubbling from the rocks.

_LME7587

We arrived off the mountains at 4:30 happy and tired – the good tired. Judging by the wag and bark Willow was happiest of all. She is an incredible dog.

_LME7603Willow finding her route.  

