the milky way in may

by underswansea

milkyway5.15

I waited for the new crescent moon to go down then headed for the end of Lake Windermere. Last weekend the road had been used by hoards of May long weekend revellers, (I am being kind) tearing up the landscape in every kind of dirt bike, quad and four wheeler. The road was soft dust and deep ruts with newly made side roads veering off in every direction. It’s not a place I go often because of the ruck of the crowd and the willful destruction. However, since it was two in the morning and mid week I figured I was safe.

I walked the rest of the way to the end of the lake. It was quiet but for the sound of geese, owls, coyotes and fish splashing, spawning in the shallows. It’s not as dark in the valley bottom as my usual haunt in the mountains, still I could easily make out The Milky Way, Andromeda and thousands of stars.

The photo is 4 separate photos merged together in Photoshop to show as much sky as possible.

