the milky way

by underswansea

 

feb2015milkywaysm

We haven’t had many good nights for star gazing, so when it cleared this morning, I grabbed my camera and took off for the creek. It was my hope to watch the brighter part of The Milky Way make it’s return, after spending the winter hiding below the mountains. The Milky Way was low against the mountains and shone through some interesting and colourful atmospheric light. I believe it was aurora and possibly some small whispy clouds reflecting other light. Before long morning crept in and owls started to hoot. They are the first I’ve heard this year and believed them to be Great Horned Owls, as they are the earliest to get amorous. It was a welcome sound and between them waking, and the starry sky my heart was filled with joy.

