Willow

by underswansea

RCE_7663

This is our new dog Willow. She is a Wire-Haired Dachshund like our last dog Slinky. I’ve made a promise not to compare them.

She is only eight weeks old, but already loves the outdoors. She digs in the snow and gnaws on old wood frozen to the ground. I can tell she is smart. There are a lot of things that go into making a good dog. I expect her to keep watch and let me know when she hears something beyond our camp. In return, I will share my sandwich.

She already looks up when I am thinking of going outside.

I miss my two old dogs. They knew so much. I didn’t have to worry. Now I have this little one. She doesn’t know about coyotes or the swiftness of the river. It’s up to her to figure it out.

The bush has been lonely without four legs making tracks.

Willow is getting used to the snow. She only pays attention when I say something that matters. She is hard headed and will be a pain-in-the-ass to train.

It’s good to have her keeping pace. Later, with luck, her nose will be down. Some of the time she will be on watch while the fire burns. I’ll console her and she’ll console me.

Life is hazardous and much too dangerous to walk without a good dog.

_LME5713

Big yawn!

