comet lovejoy

by underswansea

_LME5639

After a month of cloud the skies finally cleared enough for some stars to shine through. Immediately after work I quickly headed behind Swansea to escape the valley lights. The moon was set to rise around midnight, so I only had about an hour of dark skies. I wanted to try and photograph Comet Lovejoy. It was faint, but with the help of the camera I could make it out. It appeared as a fuzzy green light sailing through Taurus. In the full resolution photo the tail of the comet can be seen. This is surprising because I was using a wide lens. Weather permitting I will try to photograph it in the coming days and track its movement against the stars. The photo above can be made larger by clicking on it to open in its own page. In the photo below, I have pointed out Comet Lovejoy among the constellations.

comet lovejoy

