the last of it

by underswansea

RCE_6878

Lisa and I caught snowflakes falling this morning. We were walking the dogs creek-bound behind the mountain. We both looked at each other and said in unison, “Is that snow?”

We remarked that some of our favourite roads would soon be impassible.

The garden is still going, chard, leeks, celery, beets, carrots, kale and one lone pepper. How the pepper is still standing I will never know! The carrots and beets are hard and need extra cooking but are super sweet. Cold weather will do that. Lisa made pickled spiced cabbage out of the last red cabbage – a favorite of mine. She says it won’t be ready for three weeks, but I will sneak a jar before then.

RCE_6879

Tonight we will have a roasted chicken with chard, leeks and celery. It is an interest of mine to see how long I can keep the garden going. Every year it lasts a little longer. I attribute it to my astute planning and planting opposed to global warming. Before long I will be planting grapes and making wine.

RCE_6882

