a couple of old timers

by underswansea

_LME3894

Ara

RCE_5575

Slinky

A good rain tonight. Been a few times in the last couple of days I’ve felt chilled. It must be time to bring out the long underwear. With each passing year it goes on earlier and comes off later. The rain could easily turn to snow. It’s that time of year. The old dogs spend most of their time beside the fire, curled like knotted rugs. They are not fond of the cold unless they are hunting. They like the bush. We have that in common. I always appreciate the way they look after me. It’s good to be part of a pack. The clouds are low, but when they clear the mountains will be white. The firewood is in, I’m gainfully employed, there is meat in the freezer, but still I worry. Those old dogs have my back and will do anything for me. That feels good.

