a very fine night

by underswansea

Untitled_Panorama1

When I see something beautiful or awe inspiring, I always wonder if I will ever see it again. Sometimes you don’t. The older you get the more you think about it. You know time is running out; chances are becoming fewer.

The temperature dipped below -30°c. Ara was glad to be along. I wasn’t sure if it was the bush, or the stars or the cold that took my breath away.

_LME2381

Jupiter is running backwards as we lap her. Orion was tangled in the bush. I saw a long meteor light up the sky. It started at the handle of the Big Dipper and didn’t disappear until Pleiades.

I heard Windermere Creek running; bubbling through the ice. The trees cracked in the cold. It sounded like distant gunshots. Some closer than others. It was disconcerting until I realized how lucky I was to hear it.

The experts say Birch cracks in the cold. One can never be sure, but listening, I thought it was Spruce. I have split Spruce with big cracks in it. Instead of it being easy to split it was hard, because it twists. The cold will do that to you.

I was looking for something up there. As usual, I got sidetracked. The stars will do that to you.

Untitled_Panorama2

