friday

by underswansea

_LME2337

The week has flown by. I chased stars for most of it. In the mornings I tried to spot ISON, but wasn’t successful. Saw Mercury and Saturn disappear into the dawn.

Tonight the dogs and I took to the creek. We were racing the moon. It was coming from the east while us from the west. In my haste I grabbed the wrong camera. Why waste the night I figured and took a few shots. The dogs wondered around in the darkness. Slinky barked at something; it could have been a rabbit or it could have been a cougar. It is all the same to her. I gave her a call just in case it was the latter, to let it know, the lame dog had backup.

RCE_2927

Orion filled the sky. The trees were tangled in the stars. Pleiades was overhead. It was minus 18° and felt cold. This week the temperatures dropped, but it felt warmer. The grey had lifted. Tonight I felt cold. I don’t get cold very often. Maybe it was because I forgot the camera.

The dogs were glad to jump into the truck. I got the heater. Everyone was happy for that.

RCE_2936

The moon came up in a warm haze. I pulled over to take a picture through the trees. The dogs stayed put, thinking me the fool.

RCE_2940

