by underswansea

RCE_2283

Been seeing plenty of grouse this year. This evening four large Blue Grouse found their way into my garden. They must have been seriously off course because I can’t remember seeing them down this low. They are usually seen up in the bush below tree line. They let me get close, which is also unusual with this bird. At first I thought they were Fool Hens (Spruce Grouse), because of their lack of fear, but their size and colouring gave them away. There was a time I carried a rifle at this time of year. But you can only look down one set of sites at a time and the last few years it has been a camera. Still, some chicken mulligan would taste good as it starts to cool down. Lucky for them I still have some wild mushroom soup leftover. I hope they are able to find their way back into the bush without being hassled too much

