mid january

by underswansea

_LME0195

This January has not been good for stargazing. Clouds, even at higher elevations, have obscured the skies. Tonight it cleared. With great anticipation, I headed for the creek. The moon was directly overhead in first quarter.

_LME0189

The night was spectacular and never ceases to amaze. The light from the moon and stars are different every time out. I hope I never get used to it.

_LME02011

The temperature was warm at -10°c. I didn’t need gloves or a heavy coat. The moon through the trees served as guide. The dogs stuck close like they usually do on our nighttime walks. Another dog, Sirius came up over the mountain nipping at Orion the Hunter’s heal. Slinky barked, to tell me she considered herself brighter.

It’s a funny thing. I don’t think I could leave these mountains now, even if I had to. It is not that I am set in my ways (though I am). It’s just there is still so much I haven’t seen.

_LME0179The Dipper

 

