2012 in photos

by underswansea

Photography is important to me for reasons that may not be apparent at first glance. I have very little interest in capturing a perfectly lit or composed image. My photos do not belong on calendars or hanging in museums. What interests me is taking a photo that shows a moment in time. When done right they are a documentary. The stories they tell are small, but to me, it is the story that is important. Nothing else matters to these photographs.

If you have read this blog, or one of my others you may notice I take photos of certain things year after year, orchids for instance. Digital photos are time coded. When looking at photos from differing years, I know to the day if the seasons are ahead or behind. But it is never that simple. Crocuses can be ahead, while ospreys can be slow to return. Nature is a mystery that refuses to give up all the answers even over a lifetime of study. After all, a lifetime is short in the eyes of the natural world. Instead of frustrating I take solace in being at its mercy.

Often it is only colour I want to record. There are colours that only appear for a short time during the year. If I am lucky I’m in the right place at the right time. Sometimes I have to wait years before seeing it again. That is pretty special when you think about it.

In 2012, I turned the camera towards the night sky. This has taken some practice. I find this very rewarding and somewhat addictive, documenting the stars and planets against a familiar landscape. Again, I find the vast distances that rule this relationship comforting.

Most of the photos I take will never be seen by anyone. In 2012, I took far fewer photos than previous years. The reason was one of choice as Lisa and I quit photographing professionally.

In 2013, my camera will still ride between the seats when I head behind Swansea, ready for whatever crosses my path, be it a river otter, a jack rabbit, a lady slipper or the blur of Andromeda.

However, I may not post as many to this blog. The other subject palliserpass explores is the transformation of a small town area into an urban area. Almost all of the short fictional writing deals with this change. The transformation of the Columbia Valley has been complete for several years now. I am not as upset by this as some of the writing and photos may suggest. It was inevitable, and as much a part of nature as a river changing it’s channel after a heavy runoff.

Here are a few photos from 2012. Thanks for reading palliserpass. Have a wonderful 2013!

RCE_3840

RCE_3973r

 

RCE_3929

RCE_4000

RCE_3886

RCE_4264

_LME1306

RCE_4254

RCE_4240

RCE_4047

RCE_4503

RCE_4423

RCE_4367

_LME4844

RCE_4576

RCE_4550

RCE_4849

RCE_5075

RCE_5510

RCE_5246

RCE_5788

RCE_6286

RCE_6055

RCE_6463

RCE_6958

RCE_7145

RCE_8184

RCE_7997

RCE_8276

RCE_8056

RCE_8673

RCE_8945

RCE_8725

_LME9921