Downy Woodpecker

by underswansea

Great start to the day. Just as I was heading out the door to work, Lisa said, “There is a baby woodpecker out in the garden.”

I took a quick look and saw the small Downy Woodpecker on a garden fence pole. So I grabbed the camera and headed outside, sure it would fly before I could get the camera to my eye. But it didn’t. I took several photos before realizing I didn’t have a memory card in the camera. I ran back inside for the card, thinking it would fly away before I got back. But it didn’t.

The little guy pecked away at the fir poles and was patient with me, even letting me get close.

We have had several Flickers hanging around, but this is the first Downy Woodpecker Lisa and I have seen in the yard. I took the last picture and only until I was walking back inside did it fly away. Sometimes you get lucky.

