the deer problem

by underswansea

After the first week of October I take the high fences down. Like my father and grandfather I leave in a few beets, a few carrots, just to see how long they can last. In this generation it’s the deer that get them first. It used to be the frost. I fight the deer in the spring and summer. Come fall I call it a truce.

My grandfather would have shot a man who tramped through his garden, let alone a mangy mule deer. The deer would have ended up simmering in a pot with carrots, celery and onions.

Some might say I feed the deer (there is a bylaw against that) by leaving roots in the garden. People either love or hate the deer. I think it is about 50/50. Both sides would say I lie. The thing is – people in town created this problem. To attract tourists, we had to put our dogs and guns away. We paved streets and planted flowers where we had weeds. The village watered every spare space until everything turned green. All in an effort to attract more and more spenders from Alberta. It didn’t happen overnight. It took time to create a tourist trap like the Invermere you see today. We created rules and bylaws forbidding common sense. Now we have the deer and we can’t figure out how to get rid of them. I feel the same, but stronger about the tourists. Funny thing – the people that love the tourists the most hate the deer the most. How do you figure that?

